What you need to know about Colorado’s Marijuana Laws
While many may not realize it, there are individuals who enter drug treatment because of marijuana addiction. It is a common misconception that it is impossible to become dependent on pot, but in actuality marijuana comes with addictive and compulsive properties, many of which are psychological in nature. As marijuana laws continue to take new shape across the country, it’s important for everyone to stay informed about the changing pot laws.
As you may already know, the state of Colorado passed a law legalizing the sale of recreational marijuana. However, if you live outside Colorado you may not be aware of what this new law actually means for the state and for the U.S in general.
Here are some things you should know about this Colorado law.
1. You must be 21 to purchase pot.
According to Time magazine, only those ages 21 and older can purchase pot from one of the marijuana dispensaries. This is because advocates for the bill argued that pot is no more dangerous to the public than alcohol, and should be regulated in the same way.
2. Tourists can buy pot, but that doesn’t mean they’ll have an easy time using it.
People who travel to Colorado are allowed to hold up to an ounce of marijuana on their person, just like Colorado residents. However, if tourists do not have a home to use the pot, they may be out of luck; the law states that marijuana cannot be smoked in public places. This means no parks, bars, sidewalks, bus stops or even cars, and this is why most people will likely stay within their homes to smoke. Furthermore, tourists are not allowed to take pot out of the state. Getting caught trying to bring it home could result in a $1,000 fine, and potential criminal charges.
3. Personal sales are still illegal.
According to USA Today, this law does not make it legal for just anyone to sell marijuana. It is still illegal for people who do not have a license to sell pot, and it can only be purchased in one of the 136 businesses that have obtained a permit in the state.
4. Smoking on the slopes is not allowed.
Many people travel to Colorado to take advantage of the great skiing and snowboarding slopes. Individuals who are concerned that their favorite ski resort will suddenly be covered in marijuana smoke need not worry, as bringing pot on the slopes is prohibited. USA Today spoke to a representative from the Forrest Service who says there is a minimum $250 fine for anyone caught smoking pot within a ski resort.
5. You cannot smoke while driving.
Individuals in the state are not allowed to smoke while driving, and operating a car under the influence of marijuana is still illegal. Law enforcement intends to test for pot use while driving by using a blood test that determines if people have five nanograms or more of delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol, or THC, in their systems. If they do, it is likely that they smoked not long before driving.
6. Marijuana can only be purchased with cash.
People will not be able to use credit or debit cards in order to purchase pot. Cash only.
7. Recreational pot is more expensive than medical marijuana.
While medical marijuana can be purchased for about $30 to $50 for every eighth ounce, recreational put will cost between $40 and $60 per ounce.
What do you think of this new pot law?
Start The Admissions Process Now
Your 1-on-1 consultation and Insurance Verification are 100% Free
All you have to do is pick up the phone and call or chat now
We will never share your information with a third party without your explicit consent