ASAM Criteria & Levels of Care in Addiction Treatment

2 min read
5 sections
Discover the ASAM criteria and how this tool helps addiction treatment professionals provide the best treatment for rehab patients.
What you will learn:
ASAM criteria
ASAM dimensions
ASAM levels of care
Where to find a rehab center near you

The ASAM criteria serve as an important tool to help addiction treatment providers determine the most ideal forms of treatment for meeting the needs of people seeking help for a substance use disorder.

This page will discuss what the ASAM criteria are, how they are used, the levels of care, and how rehab centers can qualify for ASAM certification.

What are the ASAM Criteria Used For?

The ASAM criteria use a multidimensional approach to assess a person’s needs, strengths, resources, social support, and various assets. The ASAM criteria help determine the best level of care for the person’s substance use disorder at the time of assessment, accounting for their need for medical oversight and safety.2 The ASAM criteria can be used at entry into treatment and during transitions to different levels of care on the continuum.2

ASAM Dimensions

The ASAM dimensions are comprehensive and take in all aspects of the person’s life. The use of these dimensions helps to determine the intensity of services needed.3 They are:3

  • Dimension 1: Acute intoxication and/or withdrawal potential. Exploring and assessing the current and past use of substances, as well as the history of withdrawal
  • Dimension 2: Biomedical dimension, which explores a person’s medical needs and health history
  • Dimension 3: Emotional, behavioral, or cognitive conditions and complications
  • Dimension 4: Readiness to change. Determining a person’s willingness and readiness to change their substance use
  • Dimension 5: Relapse, continued use, or continued problem potential. Assessing a person’s individual needs that can influence their potential to relapse
  • Dimension 6: Recovering/living environment. Assessing how a person’s living situation can help or hinder their efforts at recovery

ASAM Levels of Care

ASAM outlines various levels of care based on the outcome of the 6 ASAM dimensions assessment.3 These levels of care are on a scale ranging from 0.5 to 4, with 4 being the most intensive.3

Again, with the ASAM dimensions taking into account a person’s needs, strengths, and support system, among other variables, the assessment informs the clinician as to which of these levels is the most appropriate at the time for a person’s treatment needs.3

How Do Rehab Centers Qualify for ASAM Certification?

Currently, a rehab center can get certification as a Level 3.1, 3.5, or 3.7 provider.4 This certification involves an assessment of the program’s ability to provide services consistent with the needs of the people in need of treatment at these levels.4 If a program is seeking an ASAM certification, they go through an application with an organization known as CARF, which provides an independent assessment of a treatment program.4

When a program obtains ASAM certification, it tells patients that they can be assured that the program can provide evidence-based treatment that can meet a person’s specific needs.4

Find Drug & Alcohol Treatment Centers Near You


  1. American Society of Addiction Medicine. (2022). About us.
  2. American Society of Addiction Medicine. (2022). About the ASAM criteria.
  3. gov. (2017). Overview of substance use disorder (SUD) care clinical guidelines: A resource for states developing SUD delivery system reforms.
  4. American Society of Addiction Medicine. (2022). Level of care certification.
Don’t wait. Call us now.
Our admissions navigators are available to help 24/7 to discuss treatment.
Get addiction help now (24/7 helpline)We’re here for you every step of the way.